Universität Wien
Kinderbüro Universität Wien
Home  ›  About us  ›  History – About Us

History - About Us

On January 1st, 2006, the Kinderbüro Universität Wien GmbH was founded as a non-profit limited company and as a subsidiary of the  Innovationszentrum Universität Wien GmbH.

But the history of the Children’s Office is a little longer than that,...

In 1998/99, under the then research minister Dr. Caspar Einem, a cataologue of measures for the advancement of women in research was formulated, the "Weißbuch zur Förderung von Frauen in der Wissenschaft". One of the aims of this measure catalogue was to facilitate the reconciliation of a career in research with child care duties (which often are in the hands of women). At the time, a wish for special child care contact points at universities was expressed.   

With budget funds from the ministry in the extent of 10,000 Austrian Schilling (720 Euros), a child care contact point by the name of „Children’s Office“ was launched in June 2001 at the University of Vienna, as a project of ao. Univ. Prof. Dr. Gabriele Moser, then vice-rector.
In 2002, the Children’s Office was put on a broader basis through funding as an inter-university project over a period of three years by the ESF (European Social Fund), the bm:bwk and the University of Vienna.

In November 2003, the Children’s Office moved from its small one-room office to its new premises, which are still in use today, and which made it possible to establish a flexible child care facility and the parent’s room.

With Vienna Children’s University, which had been conceived originally as a holiday child care project, and which grew yearly, the Children’s Office grew as well. Soon the team of the Children’s Office was enlarged, and the field of activities became more comprehensive.

Since January 1st, 2006, the Children’s Office has been an independent institution in the form of a non-profit limited company, which implements projects in the three thematic fields of Child & Care, Compatibility & Diversity, and Research & Communication, and realises those projects and develops them further in the forms of Net & Work and Project & Idea.

Veranstaltungen

Universität Wien
Kinderbüro Universität Wien

History - Wir über uns

Mit 1.1.2006 wurde die Kinderbüro Universität Wien GmbH als gemeinnützige GmbH und Tochterunternehmen der Innovationszentrum Universität Wien GmbH begründet.

Doch die Geschichte des Kinderbüro ist schon ein bisschen älter, ...

1998/99 wurde unter dem damaligen Wissenschaftsminister Dr. Caspar Einem mit dem "Weißbuch zur Förderung von Frauen in der Wissenschaft" ein Maßnahmenkatalog zur Förderung von Frauen im Wissenschaftsbetrieb formuliert. Ein Anliegen des Weißbuches bestand darin, die Vereinbarkeit von wissenschaftlicher Karriere und Kinderbetreuungspflichten (die oftmals in den Händen der Frauen liegen) zu erleichtern. Damals wurde der Wunsch nach eigenen Kinderbetreuungsanlaufstellen an Universitäten formuliert.  

Mit einer budgetären Ausstattung von Seiten des Ministeriums von 10.000 Schilling (720 Euro) wurde im Juni 2001 unter dem Namen "Kinderbüro" eine Kinderbetreuungsanlaufstelle der Universität Wien als Projekt von ao. Univ. Prof. Dr. Gabriele Moser, der damaligen Vizerektorin, gestartet.
Im Jahr 2002 wurde das Kinderbüro an der Universität Wien als interuniversitäres Projekt vom ESF (Europäischer Sozialfonds), dem bm:bwk und der Universität Wien auf eine breitere Basis gestellt und über 3 Jahre gefördert.

Von einem kleinen 1-Raum-Büro übersiedelte das Kinderbüro mit November 2003 in die Räumlichkeiten, die bis heute vom Kinderbüro genutzt werden und die den Aufbau einer flexiblen Kinderbetreuungseinrichtung und die Einrichtung des Elternzimmers ermöglichten.

Mit der ursprünglich als Ferienbetreuungsprojekt geplanten KinderuniWien, die von Jahr zu Jahr gewachsen ist, wuchs auch das Kinderbüro. Und schon bald wurde das Team des Kinderbüros größer und der Tätigkeitsbereich immer umfangreicher.

Seit 1.1.2006 ist das Kinderbüro eine eigenständige Einrichtung in Form einer gemeinnützigen GmbH, die in den drei Themenfeldern Kinder & Betreuung, Vereinbarkeit & Vielfalt, sowie Wissenschaft & Vermittlung Projekte umsetzt und diese in Form von Netz & Werk und Projekt & Idee realisiert und weiterentwickelt.

Veranstaltungen