Universität Wien
Kinderbüro Universität Wien
Home  ›  About us

About us

The Children’s Office sees itself as a platform of ideas and projects. It realizes new projects in cooperation with others.

Abilities, activities, people and principles:

Pool of Ideas Children's Office – Development of innovative formats of science communication
We focus on education, knowledge, curiosity and enthusiasm, diversity and variety, voluntariness and participation are primary elements for us! In our science communication  projects , children can have a go with experimenting, asking  questions, laughing, studying, thinking and being astonished.
Project of reference: KinderuniWien – Concept and continuing development

Open and equal access – outreach programmes
We take science to the  people, our goal is to also reach children and teenagers from educationally disadvantaged backgrounds. This hapens in cooperation with a varied network of partners reaching from (extracurricular) streetwork to park supervision and youth centres.
Project of reference: Kinderuni on Tour – idea and implementation

Complex content understandably transformed  for children and teenagers
We translate scientific and science-oriented content  in an easy understandable form so children and teenagers are able to understand scientific relations.Furthermore we communicate them in different types of media – from books to websites.
Project of reference: www.demokratiewerkstatt.at, the children's internet portal of the Austrian Parliament – design and content supervision

Open up spaces for children and teenagers, and discover those with them
Staff in organisations from science, culture,companies and politics shape children's and teenagers' futures and act in areas which are closed for children and teenagers. We open those spaces not only for them, we bring decision makers, children and teenagers together.
Project of reference: Youth parliament, on behalf of the Austrian Parliament – development and monitoring

Education in children’s groups and holiday programs
Parents need support when it comes to reconciling their professional lives or studies with child care – also at universities, especially for babies, and when schools are closed. We accompany children from baby age on, and not only help reconcile children and professional life, but also help children become happy, attentive and self-confident individuals.
Project of reference: Child groups Staunemäuse, Forscherflöhe, UnikükenUnispatzen, Neugierdsnasen, a service for students and employees at the University of     Vienna – development and operation

Pedagogically informed child care in business companies and at events
Child care where it is needed. We act in a situation-oriented way and adapt to local conditions and the needs of children and parents, without forgetting about the children's well-being, fun and enjoyment.
Project of reference: Flying Nanny – development of the offer and implementation

Continuing quality development and international networking
Having developed out of the University of Vienna, we follow academic values and principles. Scientifically informing our work, cooperation with experts from different fields, interdisciplinarity and international networking are the defining quality elements of our work.
Project of reference: European Children's Universities Network www.eucu.net – initiative and coordination

Original and lateral thinking with children – this is what we learn from, and like to let ourselves be lead by it
Project of reference: „SiS Catalyst - Children as Change Agents for Science in Society“ – promoted by the European committee with 16 worldwide partners based on the ideas of the Children´s Office

The Children's Office is a spin off company of the University of Vienna and acts – after a project phase of several years – as an independent non-profit limited company since 2006, implementing innovations on the regional, national and international level at the interface of science and society on a project-funded basis.

Universität Wien
Kinderbüro Universität Wien

Wir über uns

Das Kinderbüro versteht sich als Ideen- und Projektplattform und initiiert und realisiert neue Projekte in Kooperationen mit anderen.

Das können wir, das machen wir, das sind wir, dafür stehen wir

Ideenpool Kinderbüro – Entwicklung innovativer Formate zur Wissenschaftsvermittlung
Bildung, Wissen, Neugierde und Begeisterung, Vielfalt und Buntheit, die Freiwilligkeit und Partizipation stehen bei uns im Vordergrund! Bei den Wissenschaftsvermittlungsprojekten darf ausprobiert, gefragt, gelacht, geforscht, nachgedacht und gestaunt werden.
Referenzprojekt: KinderuniWien– Konzept und kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung

Offener und gleichberechtigter Zugang – Outreach-Programme
Wir bringen Wissenschaft zu den Menschen und erreichen gezielt Kinder und Jugendliche aus bildungsfernem Umfeld. Dabei kooperieren wir mit einem vielfältigen Netzwerk an Partnern der (außerschulischen) Kinder- und Jugendarbeit, z.B. Parkbetreuungen und Jugendzentren.
Referenzprojekt: Kinderuni on Tour – Idee und Realisierung

Komplexe Inhalte für Kinder und Jugendliche aufbereitet
Wir übersetzen wissenschaftliche und wissensorientierte Inhalte für Kinder und Jugendliche und nutzen bei deren Vermittlung unterschiedliche Medien – vom Buch bis zur Website.
Referenzprojekt: www.demokratiewebstatt.at, das Kinder-Internetportal des österreichischen Parlaments – Gestaltung und inhaltliche Betreuung

Räume für Kinder und Jugendliche öffnen und mit ihnen entdecken
MitarbeiterInnen von Organisationen aus Wissenschaft, Kultur, Wirtschaft und Politik gestalten die Zukunft für Kinder und Jugendliche und agieren an Orten, die normalerweise Kindern und Jugendlichen verschlossen sind. Wir öffnen Räume für Kinder und Jugendliche und bringen EntscheidungsträgerInnen mit Kindern und Jugendlichen zusammen.
Referenzprojekt: Jugendparlament, im Auftrag des österreichischen Parlaments – Entwicklung und Begleitung

Bildungsarbeit in Kindergruppen und bei Ferienprogrammen
Eltern brauchen Unterstützung bei der Vereinbarkeit von Beruf bzw. Studium und Kinderbetreuung – auch im Universitätsbetrieb, insbesondere für Kleinstkinder und dann, wenn die Schule geschlossen ist. Wir begleiten Kinder vom Babyalter an und leisten nicht nur einen Beitrag zur Vereinbarkeit, sondern auch dazu, dass Kinder zu fröhlichen, aufmerksamen und selbstbewussten Menschen heranwachsen.
Referenzprojekt: Kindergruppen Staunemäuse, ForscherflöheUniküken, Unispatzen, Neugierdsnasen, ein Service für Studierende und MitarbeiterInnen der Universität Wien – Aufbau und Betrieb

Pädagogisch fundierte Betreuungsleistungen in Unternehmen und bei Events
Kinderbetreuung, dort wo sie gebraucht wird. Wir agieren situationsorientiert und an die Rahmenbedingungen des Betreuungsortes und die Bedürfnisse der Kinder und Eltern angepasst, ohne dabei das Wohl der Kinder, Spaß und Freude aus den Augen zu verlieren.
Referenzprojekt: Flying Nanny – Angebotsentwicklung und Umsetzung

Kontinuierliche Qualitätsentwicklung und internationale Verankerung
Aus der Universität Wien heraus entstanden, folgen wir universitären Werten und Grundhaltungen. Wissenschaftliche Fundierung der Arbeit, Kooperation mit ExpertInnen aus unterschiedlichen Fachbereichen, Interdisziplinarität und internationale Verankerung sind wesentliche Qualitätselemente unserer Arbeit.
Referenzprojekt: European Children’s Universities Network www.eucu.net – Initiative und Koordination

Vor- und Querdenken gemeinsam mit Kindern – daraus lernen wir und davon lassen wir uns gerne leiten
Referenzprojekt: „SiS Catalyst - Children as Change Agents for Science in Society“ – gefördert von der Europäischen Kommission mit 16 weltweiten PartnerInnen basierend auf den Ideen des Kinderbüros

Das Kinderbüro ist ein Spin-off-Unternehmen der Universität Wien und agiert – nach mehrjähriger Projektphase – seit 2006 als eigenständige gemeinnützige GmbH, die auf projektfinanzierter Basis Innovationen auf regionaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft umsetzt